Category: A Halo Called Fred

Lump’N’Loaf Records is very happy to announce the release of Lies, Damned Lies, and Songs by A Halo Called Fred, the new album by New Brunswick, NJ’s eclectic geek folk-rock act, A Halo Called Fred.

Misappropriating a classic Mark Twain’s quote for the album’s title, Lies, Damned Lies, and Songs by A Halo Called Fred carries the listener on a quirky, psychedelic journey of music, adventure, soundscapes, comedy, and much percussive use of Tupperware.

As Halo’s bandleader Geverend Dee explains, “The goal with the new album was to take everything Halo represents; the energy, spontaneity, and sense of humor of our live shows, and interpret it in a way more fitting to the recorded medium.”

Finely honed through live performances, notably at off-beat cultural events such as Wicked Faire, The Steampunk World’s Fair, and the Macabre Faire Film Festival, the 24 tracks on “Lies,…” aims for a unique listener experience. Covering a wide range of topics, including apocalyptic fornication, stylish 19th Century eyeware, extremist politics, Rocky Horror Picture Show, illicit drug use and other unsavory practices, Lies,… reinforces A Halo Called Fred’s continued agenda of spreading love and happiness.

“We wanted the listener to do more than just hear the songs,” said Geverend. “We wanted to suck them into the world of our collective minds and experience an hour there before returning back to reality. We unleash this release upon the world, for all to listen to with a song in their ears and love in their hearts!”

Lies, Damned Lies, and Songs by A Halo Called Fred Tracklist is as follows:

  1. What Are We Reaching For?
  2. Pignocerous of Spleebonia (Very Real Threats)
  3. I Haz a Sad
  4. Do You Seek Adventure? Part I
  5. My Monocle
  6. That’s an E
  7. It’s Not That Kind of Party
  8. Touch-a Touch-a Touch-a Touch Me
  9. Do You Seek Adventure? Part II
  10. Holy Shit, You Love Me
  11. Cthulhu’s Head is a Great Big Squid
  12. Take My Rock and Like It
  13. The Most Annoying Singing
  14. Suck My Haircut
  15. Previously…
  16. Aliens Part II
  17. Gravy Biscuit Dipped in Gravy
  18. Love on the Day After the Apocalypse
  19. It’s All Aces Baby
  20. Do You Seek Adventure? Part III
  21. The Murple’s Magic Hat – Best Christmas Gift Ever
  22. This Will Not End Well
  23. In the Long Dark Teatime of the Soul
  24. Do You Seek Adventure? Part IV

Songs written and performed by A Halo Called Fred except “Touch-a Touch-a Touch-a Touch Me” by Richard O’Brien, copyright Wixen Music Publishing, Obo Druidcrest Music

Track 5 inspired by

Lies, Damned Lies, and Songs by A Halo Called Fred is available for download through Lump’N”Loaf Records, most online retailers (including iTunes, and Amazon) and at A Halo Called Fred shows.

Engineered by Anthony Kroposky, Fish on Fire Recordings, Trenton, N.J.
Mixed by Anthony Kroposky and Carmen Verderosa at Woodrock Studios, Raritan, N.J.
Mastered by Carmen Verderosa
Sound collages grown in Geverend’s Mad Science Lab
A Halo Called Fred is:
Geverend Dee – Strum-Strum (electric guitar), Woody (acoustic guitar), keyboards, most vocals
Brushwood Thicket Farmer – Bang-O-Tron (kitchenware, cookie tins, random percussion), more vocals
Tiny – Uprighty (upright bass), The Shark (electric bass), Geddy (bonus bass), backing vocals
Queenie – Baby Vee (violin), Uko Ono (ukulele), backing vocals
Chester – Cosmic Vibes (invisible) 

Special vocal appearance by Jim Bob Rubbernecker on tracks 6 and 7

For more info, please visit:
Music Videos