Zigman Bird – Balls Marie

ZB Balls Marie cd cover


  1. Eyelids
  2. Don't Wake Up
  3. Fit Right In
  4. New Stuff
  5. Hope You Don't Mind
  6. Queen of Distraction
  7. Unusual Thing
  8. Kingdom's Crown
  9. Prince Steps Heavy

Zigman Bird is singer/guitarist Keith Robert Beck’s brainchild. After creating his first solo effort entitled Zigman Bird, he put together a band of the same name. That first effort garnered some buzz for it’s catchy hooks and melodic memorable vocal lines. Fusing everything from the Beatles to T-Rex to Iggy and Bowie, he found his own niche in not sounding like them.

The follow up to Keith’s first effort is titled Ball’s Marie. Balls Marie was recorded with a live band sound where the first CD was a complete studio production. “Balls” is a mad rolling journey comprising everything from the mellower Lou Reed-ish “Fit Right In” to the heavier tunes like “New Stuff” and “Eyelids”. Poppy breezy songs like “Don’t Wake Up” and “Queen of Distraction” also flow through the album to make it a complete diverse listen.

The band is playing out regularly around their home base of Central New Jersey in support of their current Lump’N’Loaf release, Yes.

Album Reviews

Scrappy “Fing” Lamberton on bass, and Bill Homeyer on drums sock out in unison with a wallop and swoop, while Keith Beck on lead guitar and vocals not only rocks out, but at times stripping rock ’n’ roll down to it’s primal state, never passing up a good lick whenever they find it, which is any song on Balls Marie. Beck places his guitar parts like a knife thrower, at times hurling single notes that leave wide-open spaces. Then he plunges through the middle with power chords, while Devine and Homeyer frame the songs with a solid rhythm section.

“Fit Right In” has the countrified swagger of The Stones “Dead Flowers,” with a little psychedelic blues for added flavor. Zigman Bird takes the natural progression from bands like Wlico and Uncle Tupelo, adding a righteous, psychedelic blues taking the county rock genre further on up the road, which runs deeper and wilder, elevating them above heads above their musical kin.

Desire, fury, and loneliness course through the songs. On “The Prince Steps Heavy” they have found a way to go gentle without going soft. A well-rounded album from start to finish, that features some kick-ass rock ’n’ roll!
Phil Rainone, Jersey Beat Magazine